fbpx
Gleebooks Bookshop
Free Call

Space Between the Stars, The

$33.00

Space Between the Stars, The

11 in stock

SKU: 9781922351616 Category: Product ID: 405504

Description

Title: Space Between the Stars, The
Author: NAIDOO INDIRA
Format: HARDCOVER
Publication date: 29/03/2022
Imprint: MURDOCH BOOKS
Price: $33.00
Publishing status: Active

A deeply moving and uplifting exploration of the power of nature – even urban nature – to heal the deepest hurts.

For fans of Julia Baird’s Phosphorescence, Sarah Wilson’s This One Wild and Precious Life or Leigh Sales’ Any Ordinary Day comes an unforgettable and poignant exploration of the healing power of nature.

‘A tender, touching and at times bloody funny meditation on life. And death. And how to live.’ David Wenham

‘For as long as I can remember, there has always been just the three of us. Three sisters. Only a year between each. Inseparable. It’s been like that for almost 50 years … Until my youngest sister walked out into her suburban backyard and took her life.

Is it possible to ever heal a tear in your universe?’

After her younger sister died suddenly, broadcaster Indira Naidoo’s world was shattered. Turning to her urban landscape for solace, Indira found herself drawn to a fig tree overlooking Sydney harbour. A connection began to build between the two – one with a fractured heart, the other a centurion offering quiet companionship while asking nothing in return.

As Indira grappled with her heartbreak, an unnoticed universe of infinite beauty revealed itself: pale vanilla clouds pirouetting across the sky, resilient weeds pushing through cracks in the footpath, the magical biodiversity of tiny puddles. With the help of a posse of urban guides, she began to explore how nature – whatever bits of nature are within reach – can heal us during life’s darker chapters, whether nursing a broken heart or an anxious mind.

The Space Between the Stars is a heart-rending, at times funny, and uplifting tribute to love and our innate need to connect to the natural world, a celebration of the reassuring cycle of renewal that sustains and nourishes us all.

‘As long as you can see the stars, you can never truly be lost.’

ISBN: 9781922351616
Dimension: 210mm X 153mm
Pages: 208

Additional information

Dimensions 210 × 153 mm