fbpx
Gleebooks Bookshop
Free Call

Berani

$17.00

Berani

2 in stock

SKU: 9781761068027 Categories: , , Product ID: 530939

Description

Title: Berani
Author: KADARUSMAN MICHELLE
Format: PAPERBACK
Publication date: 01/11/2022
Imprint: ALLEN & UNWIN
Price: $17.00
Publishing status: Active

Malia, Ari and Ginger’s three distinct voices are interwoven to tell the story of Ginger Juice, an orangutan kept captive in a cage in this powerful and uplifting novel suitable for readers of The One and Only Ivan.

Malia has had a privileged upbringing in Indonesia, but now her mother wants to return to her own family on the other side of the world. Malia is determined to stay in Indonesia, her home. Besides, if she leaves, how can she fight for her country’s precious rainforests?

Ari knows he is lucky to be going to school and competing on the chess team, even if it means working long hours at his uncle’s restaurant. And he’s horribly worried about Ginger Juice, his uncle’s orangutan. The too-small cage where she lives is clearly hurting her body and her mind, but where else can she go? The rainforest where she was born is a palm oil plantation now.

The choices Malia and Ari make will have consequences for themselves, Ginger Juice and others, if they are courageous enough to choose.

A powerful story about a standing up for what you believe no matter what the cost.

ISBN: 9781761068027
Dimension: 198mm X 128mm
Pages: 224

Additional information

Dimensions 198 × 128 mm