fbpx
Gleebooks Bookshop
Free Call

Anniversary, The

$22.99

Anniversary, The

SKU: 9780733651625 Categories: , Product ID: 802356

Description

Temporarily out of stock

Title: Anniversary, The
Author: BISHOP STEPHANIE
Format: PAPERBACK
Publication date: 29/05/2024
Imprint: HACHETTE AUSTRALIA
Price: $22.99
Publishing status: NOT YET PUBLISHED

‘Eventful, atmospheric, deliciously complex’ New York Times



‘Elegant and highly accomplished . . . dangerously readable . . . If only all novels were this engaging and this perceptive about human nature’ The Guardian



‘A literary potboiler about love, obsession, professional rivalry between intimates and the dilemmas confronting a female artist. Riveting’ Sydney Morning Herald





There were things that I wanted to say. Things I knew I couldn’t say but needed to tell someone. And then the things I knew I should say. What they wanted to hear. There is never only one version.



Novelist JB Blackwood is on a cruise with her husband, Patrick, to celebrate their wedding anniversary. Her one-time professor, Patrick is much older than JB. A maverick when they met, he seemed somehow ageless, as all new gods appear in the eyes of those who worship them. He is a film director. A cult figure. But now his success is starting to wane and JB is on the cusp of winning a major literary prize. Her art, that has forever been overseen by Patrick, is starting to overshadow his.



For days they sail in the sun. They lie about drinking, reading, sleeping, having sex. There is nothing but dark water all around them.



Then a storm hits. When Patrick falls overboard, JB is left alone as the search for Patrick’s body, the circumstances of his death and the truth about their marriage begins.





‘A surprisingly dark and complex novel. It is intelligent and literary in the best sense of the word’ Weekend Australian



‘Bejewelled with lovely moments and undeniably exquisite writing’ The Saturday Age



‘The Anniversary is an example of both deft literary craft and an engrossing read – a feat rarer than it should be’ Australian Book Review



‘Beguiling and incisive in equal measure’ Publishers Weekly



‘Compelling and dark, a psychological thriller that makes you want to peel back the layers . . . For fans of Rachel Cusk or Siri Hustvedt’ Books+Publishing



‘Impossible to put down’ Daily Mail

ISBN: 9780733651625
Weight: 300g
Pages: 432

Additional information

Weight 300 g